Tweamster's Blog

Motivated By The Future | January 30, 2011

I read an article last week which said that someone who wants to be at cause is motivated by the future.

The more I thought about this, the truer I decided it was – at least it was true for me. It was almost one of those epiphany moments – hell, it was an epiphany, it explained to me why we’re always being asked to figure out our why for doing the business.

Almost every network marketing book you’ll ever read tells you to find your why. I just started reading a book about the habits of successful sales people, and one of the first things he talked about was knowing why you’re doing what you’re doing. Every training or fast start meeting I’ve ever been to has talked about finding your why. Every network marketing company training manual I’ve ever read has talked about finding your why for doing the business.

Do you sense a pattern here? Why are we always being asked to do this? I always kind of had it chalked up as a motivational trick – a way to keep us moving. It is, but it is so much more than that…

We are motivated by the future. We don’t work hard now to get what we already have – or if we do, we’re in a serious rut, and need to change something sooner rather than later. We work hard now to fix in the future whatever it is we don’t like about now.

After years of attending network marketing meetings and trainings, I’ve heard a lot of different whys for doing a network marketing business.

  • put my kids through college
  • bring my husband/wife home from the job he/she hates
  • be able to be full-time parents
  • to travel
  • to get out of debt
  • to make something of themselves
  • to be someone that people look up to
  • to have the house of my dreams
  • to have the car I’ve always wanted
  • to be able to take care of my parents
  • time freedom
  • to be able to go where they want when they want
  • to live where they want
  • to work with the people they choose to work with

Do you see how these are all future things? They are all things that these people want in the future for which they were willing to work hard and sacrifice for today.

Now I get it. This explains the reason for all this attention to figuring out our why which I used to think was slightly, ummm, silly…

We are motivated by the future – what do you want in your future? The first step to putting it there is knowing what it is. The second step is knowing that you want it there, and knowing that you want it there so badly that you’ll work your butt off to put it there. So badly that failure is not an option.

We are motivated by the future.

Take Charge of Your Future

If you’re a newcomer to network  marketing and want to learn more of the reasons that network marketing is such a powerful method to help you achieve your why, check out Brilliant Compensation (it’s free).

To learn how to increase the odds of achieving your why by picking the right company, go to www.AlansMLMTips.com and sign up for the “7 Days, 7 Insider Secrets” email newsletter. (This is free too!)


Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment