Tweamster's Blog

Are You Obsessed? | February 6, 2011

I recently picked up a book on the 25 most common sales mistakes. I opened it at random and what should I turn to but a chapter called “Not Being Obsessed.”

Being Obsessed Can Be A Good Thing

In this chapter called “Not Being Obsessed,” not being obsessed was one of the 25 most common sales mistakes. In other words, being obsessed was a good thing.

From the book: “You must like what you are doing for a living – selling – enough to become obsessed with it. Not fifteen-hours-a day obsessed, but rather I-have-absolutely-got-to-do-this-right-day-in-and-day-out obsessed.

“For my money, the most crucial word in sales today is obsession. …”

He goes on to expand what he means by obsession as follows “Every day, I make twenty cold calls, I can get through to maybe seven people. Once I get through to seven people, I’ll usually set up one appointment. I do that five days a week, which, by extension, means that every week, I have, on average, five new sales appointments. I close one out of five, so at the end of the year, I should have fifty new customers.”

Now, I know we’re not supposed to call network marketing selling, but I prefer to call it like it is. It’s called marketing, marketing generates sales, sales generate commissions for you and profits for the company. Call it sharing if you like, just make sure you’re obsessed with sharing.

Are You Obsessed Yet?

If you’re having trouble getting obsessed, I recommend figuring out what you’re working towards, and why you’re working towards it. You can check out my article “Motivated By The Future” for more on this, and also an earlier article of mine called “Why, Oh Why.”

Quotes

“There is one quality that one must possess to win, and that is definiteness of purpose, the knowledge of what one wants, and a burning desire to possess it.”  – Napoleon Hill

The challenge for marketers is to figure out what daily progress looks like and obsess about that.  – Seth Godin

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Alan,
    Haven’t seen you over at our blog lately. Thought I would pay you a visit. Obsession is a good thing! Like being obsessed to make sure your blog is ranking well and being consistent in your efforts. Passion is the key to success! I thinks it’s the same as obsession just sounds better.
    Hope to see you at our blog. love your comments.
    Craig

    Comment by Craig White — February 9, 2011 @ 7:46 pm

    • Hi Craig,

      Good to hear from you. I’ll be right over!

      Best,
      Alan

      Comment by tweamster — February 14, 2011 @ 10:38 pm


Leave a Reply

