Tweamster's Blog

Right Between The Eyes | January 10, 2011

Where Has This Book Been All My Life?

Ever pick up a book and have it just be so… right, so spot on, so personal and intimate to who you are and what you want in life; that you couldn’t put it down?

It doesn’t happen very often, and I read a lot and enjoy reading anything; history, fiction, economics, business, network marketing books, Harry Potter, sci fi; it’s one of my favorite pastimes, but moments like that where someone says exactly what I think are rare.

I hope I’m the only person who’s never read this book, but I have a hunch I’m in good company. I would guess I could probably ask forty or fifty networkers if they’ve read this book and I’d probably get forty or fifty no’s even though it’s considered a classic in network marketing.

What Book, Who Wrote It?

John Milton Fogg is the author, and the book is The Greatest Networker In The World. If you’ve read books or magazines on or about the network marketing industry, you’ve probably run across John’s name and never thought anything more about it.

Here’s a short self-description from John on his website; “For more than 20 years I’ve been a writer, teacher, author, speaker & coach. Ask me what I do and I’ll probably say, ‘I’m a writer.’ Ask my friends and they’ll say, ‘He’s a mentor.’ They’re right. That’s my purpose, passion & joy.

“I don’t claim to be The Greatest Networker in the World, and I am the guy that wrote the book, which having sold more than a million copies is one of the highest-ever selling network marketing titles.”

Has He Been Reading My Notes?

Here’s the part that really got to me and had tears welling up in my eyes:

“I just want to be a success, “ I told him, emotion troubling my words a little. “I’m so sick and tired of the sameness … to give my wife and kids the things they deserve. Disney World, “ I said, “I want to take the kids to Disney World – and the Grand Canyon. I want to be free. I want time … creativity … control…. And yes, I do want to be a pioneer – again. I loved doing that….”

“But…?” he asked quietly.

“But, I don’t know how,” I answered…  (End of quote)

I must be hanging out with the wrong people, nobody I know has ever mentioned this book to me …

Closing Out For This Edition

In the next paragraph, the narrator of the story goes on to say “I see other people doing it. Lots of them. So I know it can be done. And I know they’re not any smarter or better than me, or work any harder. It’s just that – I can’t seem to get it to work for me. I try. I really do. I make the calls… run my names list. It just doesn’t work.”

I am sure I’m going to find more pearls of wisdom as I continue reading this book (the quotes above are from page 13), and I will share them with you. But this one couldn’t wait as I knew it would speak to others out there.

But I wanted to close with this thought, no matter how good, bad or indifferent  you are at “doing” network marketing, you increase your chances for achieving your dreams if you pick a company that is going in the direction you want to go.

To learn more about how to pick a company to work with, go to www.AlansMLMTips.com and sign up for the “7 Days, 7 Insider Secrets” email newsletter.

If you’re investigating network marketing as a possible sideline or even a career change, but aren’t quite sure yet; you owe it to yourself to watch Brilliant Compensation, a beautiful analogy on why network marketing is so … well, brilliant.

Otherwise, if you’ve already read “The Greatest Networker,” reread it, if not, get and read the book, it’s well worth it.

Quote

Are you really listening, or are you just waiting for your turn to speak?  — John Milton Fogg

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

